REVIEW: ‘The Dressmaker’ (2015)

The DressmakerTitle: ‘The Dressmaker’
2015, Australia
Director: Jocelyn Moorhouse
Cast: Kate Winslet, Judy Davis, Liam Hemsworth

A stylish woman returns to her bleak village to exact her revenge on those who did her wrong. Her weapon: fashion.

“I’m back, you bastards”

I went into this movie completely blind. Kate Winslet is reason enough for me to take a chance on a film I know absolutely nothing about. Ms. Winslet has had a few misteps in her career, but her talent is undeniable, and ‘The Dressmaker’ adds to the long list of her fine performances.

Based on a novel by Rosalie Ham, Jocelyn Moorhouse’s movie defies any easy classification, moving from comedy to drama and back again. Viewers are taken on an emotional ride, while their eyes feast on the beautiful cinematography and gorgeous costumes. The sudden alternating of laughter and tears, the quirkiness of characters, situations and humor, make ‘The Dressmaker’ an irresistibly unusual and bizarre film. Some might feel slightly weirded out by it, but to me it was immensely enjoyable.

Equally proficient with both comedic and dramatic scenes, Moorhouse gives proof of her versatility as a director. There is not a note out of tune in her work.

Now back to Kate Winslet. She is magnificent, fierce and sexy. You’ll feel invested in her Myrtle from the very moment she makes her entrance on screen, and never for one moment will you stop rooting for her. Winslet’s chemistry with Davis is fantastic, and the romance with Hemsworth is surprisingly endearing (even for a cynical bastard like me). In general, the whole cast did an amazing job.

And while I’m at it, since I can’t seem to stop praising the movie, I’ll tell you that its musical score is absolutely stunning, and I just can’t get it out of my head.

‘The Dressmaker’ completely won me over.

★★★★☆

One comment

  1. I won me over too. I thought Kate and Liam were great and the fashion was fabulous. Read my review here : https://rinsebeforeuse.wordpress.com/2016/04/06/review-the-dressmaker/

    Like

Leave a Reply

