REVIEW: ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2’ (2015)

The Hunger Games - Mockingjay - Part 2Title: ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2’
2015, USA/Germany
Director: Francis Lawrence
Cast: Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth

On paper, the second part of the final chapter of ‘The Hunger Games’ saga had all the potential to be the best Young Adult book adaptation to date. The Suzanne Collins’ novel was so dark and merciless, I really expected this movie to be a great action/sci-fi flick capable of pleasing all audiences, regardless of age.

Truth be told, most of ‘Mockingjay – Part 2’ is pretty adherent to the original material, at least plotwise. What’s missing is the grim atmosphere I loved so much while reading the book. By the end of the last scene, the general impression I received was that of a slightly more hopeful ending than I remembered. I realize this is the kind of “flaw” that will hardly make any difference to the casual viewer, but to me it played a major part in forming my opinion.

Jennifer Lawrence and her colleagues all give adequately decent performances, with Donald Sutherland stealing the scene whenever on screen (his last shot in the movie was villainy perfection).

The pace of the movie is a little rushed. The action sequences work fine, but – in spite of the spectacular special effects and the usual magnificent score by James Newton Howard – they are not memorable enough to evoke the sense of epicness required for a grand finale.

Is ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2’ a bad movie? Far from it. Could have it been better? Most definitely.

★★★☆☆

3 comments

  1. miriamrburden · · Reply

    I haven’t seen it, but it had to be more interesting than Part 1.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Personally, I preferred Part 1. I guess it’s because I had higher expectations for the second part, so I felt more disappointed with it when those expectations were not met.

      Like

      1. miriamrburden · ·

        Yeah, I just felt like Katniss could be more involved. She wasn’t transforming. I agree that the story should culminate into a rebellion, but Suzanne Collins should have shifted her focus on a different character, or developed Katniss. Katniss was pretty stagnant. It’s only by accident that Katniss upsets the system, in the first place, and that puts me off.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

