REVIEW: ‘Deadpool’ (2016)

DeadpoolTitle: ‘Deadpool’
2016, USA/Canada
Director: Tim Miller
Cast: Ryan Reynolds, Morena Baccarin, Ed Skrein

So according to everyone and their mom, ‘Deadpool’ is the new best superhero flick of all times. Reviews are rave, and comments from fans are even more enthusiastic. Hype is a double-edged sword, though, and once again I’ve probably let myself expect more than I should have.

Now, before you label me a heartless hater, let me tell you this: I enjoyed ‘Deadpool’. I really did. It was good, even great at times, but that’s about it. The standard for comic book movies has risen exponentially in the past few years, and in order to be the best it’s not enough to just be good anymore.

If I had to point out my main problem with this movie, it’d probably be the fact that it takes ‘Deadpool’ a long time to tell a rather simple origin story. There is of course tons of nice action sequences and fantastic visual effects, but at the end of the day it’s still a very linear (and predictable) tale of revenge. The flaw was drowned out by the relentless humor and craziness, but it was still there for me to see.

Now that the character is established and the cast well run-in, the sequel will probably be able to reach the memorable status. For the time being, ‘Deadpool’ is – in my book – a regular addition to the long list of enjoyable superhero flicks available on the market nowadays.

★★★☆☆

One comment

  1. Gives the swift kick in the rear-end to the superhero genre that so desperately needed it. Nice review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

