REVIEW: ‘Je T’Aime, Je T’Aime’ (1968)

Je T'Aime, Je T'AimeTitle: ‘Je T’Aime, Je T’Aime’
1968, France
Director: Alain Resnais
Cast: Claude Rich, Olga Georges-Picot

A man who just recovered from an attempted suicide gets recruited by a group of scientists for a revolutionary experiment: they will send him back in time.

This lost gem from renowned director Alain Resnais is as trippy as a 1968’s French sci-fi drama can get. Truth be told, the science fiction in it is merely a pretext for an exploration of romance. As Claude’s past unfold in a fragmented series of random sequences, the audience witnesses his tormented love story with the complex and beautiful Catrine. I know what you’re thinking, but no, this is not ‘Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind’, though it clearly served as an inspiration to Michel Gondry’s movie.

I succumbed to the charm of this unconventional film, mostly thanks to its beautiful cinematography and the quality acting by Monsieur Rich. Also, it’s a French movie from the 60’s, and who can resist the 60’s, right?!

Yes, at times the dialogues get quite surreal and intellectual, but never in a pretentious or obnoxious way. And as erratic as the narration might appear, the final result was a perfectly organic and coherent story, one that I enjoyed to the end.

Hardcore cinephiles will love ‘Je T’Aime, Je T’Aime’. And if you are reading this blog, chances are you are a hardcore cinephile.

★★★★☆

2 comments

  1. I commend you for reviewing one of R’s more obscure titles. I’ve only seen Je t’aime once. My memory of it is much less positive than your review, but thanks for jogging me into trying to see it again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for taking the time to comment! To be honest, the first part of the film left me a little perplexed, and at first I was not sure I was going to like it. But little by little it grew on me. I will admit I’m a sucker for French cinema, so my opinion might be slightly biased.

      Like

Leave a Reply

